Saturday, July 6, 2013

Embrace Your Rosary

BEADS OF JOY 07-06-13
“Embrace Your Rosary”
©2013 James Dacey, Jr. OFS

My Friends,

The Rosary is the one single most powerful aspect of my life -that brings me Joy. I need nothing else (of cause we can’t forget The Mass, Adoration and Confession), for in the Rosary we all have: Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, Our dear precious Blessed Mother and the Holy Scriptures. What a truly precious combination of prayers, meditations and love. For hundreds of years mankind has been praying these most blessed repetition of prayers.

The more we Pray The Rosary, the more we honor and love our Lord. Some consider the repetition a waste of words, constant and endless without any meaning. Far be it from the truth, consider this; Archbishop Fulton Sheen said this in regards to the repetition:

This excerpt is from an address delivered by Archbishop Fulton J. Sheen on February 11, 1951 ~ I actually saw the original broadcast on youtube… (It's no longer available.) 

It is objected that there is much repetition in the Rosary because the Lord’s Prayer and the Hail Mary are said so often; therefore it is monotonous.

That reminds me of a woman who came to see me one evening after instructions. She said: “I would never become Catholic. You say the same words in the Rosary, over and over again, and anyone who repeats the same words is never sincere. I would never believe such a person and neither would God.” I asked her who the man was who was with her. She said it was her fiancé. I asked, “Does he love you?” “He told me.” “What did he say?” He said, “I love you.” “But never before?” “He tells me every night.” I said, “Do not believe him.” He is repeating; he is not sincere.” The beautiful truth, there is no repetition in “I love you.” Because there is a new moment of time, another point in space, the words do not mean the same as before. Love is never monotonous in the uniformity in the uniformity of its expression. The mind is infinitely variable in its language, but the heart is not. The heart of man in the face of the woman he loves is too poor to translate the infinity of his affection into different words. So the heart takes but one expression, “I love you” and in saying it over and over again, it never repeats. It is the only real news in the universe.

That is what we do when we say the Rosary. We are saying to the Holy Trinity, to the Incarnate Savior to the Blessed Mother, “I love you,” I love you, “I love you.”

I'm not a saint, but I will say that I try to be so much like St. Dominic when it comes to commitment and desire in sharing The Most Holy Rosary for my whole life. "I shall forever share the Rosary as long as I shall live, to the grave and straight to Jesus, with Rosary in hand and Mary by my side." ~Jim Dacey Jr OFS

Look at this most inspiring quote from

The Secret of The Rosary”: The Third Rose “Inspired by the Holy Ghost, instructed by the Blessed Virgin as well by his own experience, Saint Dominic preached the Holy Rosary for the rest of his life. He preached it by his example as well as by his sermons, in cities in country places, to people of high station and low, before scholars and the uneducated, to Catholics and to heretics. The Holy Rosary which he said every day was his preparation for every sermon and his little tryst with Our Lady immediately after preaching.” I am so inspired by that. I highly recommend you read “The Secret of the Rosary” it will change your life forever. And don't read it just once, read it over and over again; once you start reading it, you can't put it down.

Let us look at these wonderful, blessed mysteries again and again. I pray that you to gain this deep Joy for the Rosary. Every mystery, every prayer, every bead – Spend your life -Embracing Your Rosary!!!

The Joyful Mysteries - Focuses on our Lord's birth and childhood.

1. The Annunciation - The angel of God appears to Mary and tells her she is to be the Mother of God - humility.

2. The Visitation - Mary, on hearing of Elizabeth's own pregnancy goes to visit with Her cousin - charity.

3. The Birth of Our Lord - Away from home and with nowhere to stay Mary and Joseph welcome Jesus into the world - poverty.

4. The Presentation - Mary and Joseph present Jesus to His Heavenly Father in the temple 40 days after His Birth - obedience.

5. The Finding in the temple - After searching for three days Mary and Joseph find the 12 year old boy sitting among the learned doctors of the temple - piety.

The Luminous Mysteries - All about our Lord's ministry...

1. The Baptism of Our Lord - As Christ descends into the waters the heavens open wide and the voice of the Father declares him the beloved Son, while the Spirit descends on him to invest him with the mission which he is to carry out.

2. The Wedding Feast at Cana - The first of the signs, given at Cana, is when Christ changes water into wine and opens the hearts of the disciples to faith, thanks to the intervention of Mary, the first among believers.

3. Jesus Proclaims the Kingdom of God - Jesus proclaims the coming of the Kingdom of God, calls to conversion and forgives the sins of all who draw near to him in humble trust, the inauguration of the ministry of mercy which He continues to exercise until the end of the world, particularly through the Sacrament of Reconciliation.

4. The Transfiguration - During the Transfiguration the glory of the Godhead shines forth from the face of Christ as the Father commands the astonished Apostles to “listen to him” and to prepare to experience with Him the agony of the Passion, so as to come with Him to the joy of the Resurrection and a life transfigured by the Holy Spirit.

5. The Last Supper - At the Last Supper we see the the institution of the Eucharist, in which Christ offers his body and blood as food under the signs of bread and wine, and testifies “to the end” his love for humanity, for whose salvation he will offer himself in sacrifice.

The Sorrowful Mysteries - Now we focus on our Lord's suffering.

1. The Agony in the Garden - The thought of our sins and His impending, horrible death make Jesus sweat tears of blood - contrition.

2. The Scourging at the Pillar - Jesus is stripped of His clothing and dignity and is lashed repeatedly leaving His body a mass of bloody wounds - purity.

3. The Crowning of Thorns - Jesus is ridiculed for claiming Kingship when they place a crown of thorns on His head - courage.

4. The Carrying of the Cross - Jesus shoulders His own cross, carrying it and dragging it to Golgotha, our sins were the weight of that cross - patience.

5. The Crucifixion of Our Divine Lord - After three hours of agony, watched by His Beloved Mother, Jesus dies - self-denial.

The Glorious Mysteries - Time to celebrate through these mysteries.

1. The Resurrection - Jesus rises from the dead three days after His Crucifixion as He had said He would - faith.

2. The Ascension - 40 days after His Resurrection Jesus ascends into Heaven to sit at the right hand of His Father, there to judge the living and the dead at the end of the world - hope.

3. The Descent of The Holy Spirit - Jesus sends the Holy Spirit on His apostles and disciples in the form of fiery tongues - love.

4. The Assumption - Our Lady's soul returns to God and her glorified body is assumed into heaven - eternal happiness.

5. The Coronation - Mary is crowned Queen of Heaven and Earth, of Angels and Saints, to rule over our lives forever and into eternity - devotion to Mary.


Your brother in Christ Jesus
And His Most Blessed Mother,
Jim (The Rosary Man) Dacey Jr OFS